Eastman Philharmonia with Renée Fleming

Eastman Presents Series

November 12, 2016 | 8:00 PM Kodak Hall at Eastman Theatre
  • Tickets:
Buy TicketsOr call our Box Office 585-274-3000

Eastman Philharmonia with Renée Fleming, soprano

Neil Varon, conductor

The Eastman School of Music’s premier orchestra, the Eastman Philharmonia, is joined by four-time Grammy Award-winning soprano and Eastman alumna/Rochester native Renée Fleming. Fleming returns to the Kodak Hall stage and will thrill the audience with her sumptuous voice, artistry, and compelling stage presence. In 2013, Fleming was awarded the National Medal of Arts by President Obama, the highest honor for an individual artist. She continues to grace stages around the globe.

Under the direction of Maestro Neil Varon, Ms. Fleming and the Philharmonia will premiere Letters from Georgia, a new work by Pulitzer Prize-winning composer and Eastman alumnus Kevin Puts. Based on the personal letters of artist Georgia O’Keeffe, the work was commissioned by the Eastman School of Music and co-sponsored by Mr. Joseph and Mrs. Bette Hirsch (University of Rochester BA ’65 with honors) and Eastman’s Howard Hanson Institute for American Music. The Philharmonia will also perform Ravel’s Rapsodie espagnole and Prokofiev’s Symphony No. 5.

This performance is generously supported by Canandaigua National Bank & Trust.


Ravel Rapsodie espagnole
Kevin Puts Letters from Georgia (world premiere performance)
Prokofiev Symphony No. 5