Oleh Krysa, violin

Faculty Artist Series

February 13, 2018 | 8:00 PM Kilbourn Hall
  • Tickets:
  • General admission: $10
Free to UR ID, Free to Current Season Subscribers Buy TicketsOr call our Box Office 585-274-3000

The Faculty Artist Series is generously supported by Patricia Ward-Baker.

The Ukrainian-American violinist Oleh Krysa is long esteemed in the former USSR as a distinguished soloist, chamber musician and teacher. A prominent student of David Oistrakh, Krysa won major prizes in such international competitions as the Wieniawski (1962), Tchaikovsky (1966), and Montreal (1969), and was outright winner of the Paganini Competition (1963).

Oleh Krysa began his teaching career as chairman of the Violin Department at the Kiev Conservatory. In 1973 he took the same position at the Gnesins Musical and Pedagogical Institute in Moscow and, two years later, returned to the Moscow Conservatory as Professor of Violin, where he remained until 1988. Currently he is Professor of Violin at the Eastman School of Music, and was a Visiting Professor at Tokyo University of Arts in 2009. He is also a Honored Professor at Lviv Music Academy (Ukraine) and a Honored Member of the Japanese String Teachers Association.

In March 2016, Oleh Krysa was elected a Foreign Member of the National Academy of Arts of Ukraine. Established in 1996, the Academy’s members are distinguished specialists of professional artistry. As a Foreign Member, Oleh Krysa will give master classes, present concerts and recitals, and create and develop musical projects.

The artistic association “World of Classical Music” founded the Oleh Krysa International Violin Competition to honor Professor Krysa. The first competition was held October 25 to November 3, 2013, in Lviv. From October 20 to 31, the Second Oleh Krysa International Violin Competition will take place in Lviv.

In October and in December of 2015, Oleh Krysa presented the cycle “The Development of Violin Concerto” in four ambitious concerts with the Symphony Orchestra of Lviv Philharmonia. The programs for these concerts consisted of the works Bach: Violin Concerto No. 2; Mozart: Violin Concerto No. 5; Beethoven: Violin Concerto; Bruch: Violin Concerto No. 1; Mendelssohn: Violin Concerto in E minor; Brahms: Violin Concerto; Prokofiev: Violin Concerto No. 1; Schnittke: Violin Concerto No. 3; Tchaikovsky: Violin Concerto; Skoryk: Violin Concerto No. 1; Szymanowski: Violin Concerto No. 1; and Shostakovich: Violin Concerto No. 1.





Beethoven Violin Sonatas:
No. 6 in A Major, Op 30, No. 1
No. 8 in G Major, Op 30, No. 3
No. 7 in C minor, Op 30, No. 2